top of page

Self Introduction Email

Dear Brad,

Good day to you! I hope this email finds you well.

My name is Denise Lim, and I am an undergraduate pursuing Hospitality Business in Singapore Institute of Technology. The reason I am writing to you today is tell you more about myself, my professional background and to share my strengths and weaknesses in communication. I hope that I am able to learn from you and be a more effective communicator after this course.

I enjoy meeting new people, interacting and engaging with others. That is why I made the decision to pursue a degree in hospitality. Before starting university, I was actually studying business administration, specializing in marketing. Thus I did not have much knowledge on the hospitality field. However, the past year in this course has taught me many things, and my attachment with an event management company, Pico Art, gave me an invaluable experience. As an intern, I was given a great yet stressful responsibility of overseeing two exhibition booths for the World Cities Summit 2016. I was exposed to 'behind the scenes' of an event, and even had to help to do some 'dirty' work such as moving furniture, fixing broken lights, clearing trash and tearing down the booth. It was hard work but truly rewarding, as the two clients that I was servicing were government agencies (Housing Development Board and National Climate Change Secretariat).

Communication wise, I am an expressive person and like to share my thoughts openly. I am always ready to share ideas, as well as listening to those of others. I believe that I can speak well, and am also confident when presenting in front of an audience. Despite this, I may not be able to communicate all my ideas in a cohesive manner. That is why people usually have to ask me to repeat myself. This flaw also affects my academic writing and assignments. When doing a powerpoint presentation, writing a proposal or report, my professors have previously commented that my ideas do not flow. Basically, there is no proper linkage between the ideas and they are presented in a disjointed order.

This is why I am looking forward to CPD classes, where I can learn how to improve my thought process, and in turn the cohesiveness of my writing and communication.

Warmest regards,

Denise

REVISED on 9 Feb 2017.

Other posts read - Edna, Inqa, Sze Min

bottom of page